The beginnings of Spring and a love of stripes!

 

DSCN0723

What a change from my last post! This was just the beginning of this week – we made the most of it, Little Miss H and I, and went to the beach after school. It was still chilly but we had a glorious time playing football, finding shells and admiring the dune buggies racing around. Although keeping Little Miss H away from them proved tricky! She is definitely an adrenaline junkie – already! So we retreated to the safety of the dunes.

DSCN0722

Look at the gorgeous blue-as-blue-can-be sky with just a smattering of wispy clouds – does that not make you yearn for summer, or at least spring?

The other thing that I’ve been doing this week in any spare time that I could scrape together is making a delicious wavey stripey blanket for No 1 Son. We started by going to the beautiful wool shop. I would love to order wool online but I am a sucker for feeling it and being in a wool shop is my idea of heaven. We don’t have too many but I love the one that I go to – friendly people and an extraordinary selection of wool for such a small shop. Anyhow, No 1 Son chose some colours to go with those he’d already selected from my stash and here they are:

DSCN0701

 

Wowzers it’s going to be bright! The yellow at the bottom is nearing mustard and the blue is the most perfecty perfect turquoise. So since then I have been crocheting like a mad thing!

DSCN0716

Loving the ripply goodness of this blanket – so relaxing to crochet, a lovely rhythm of up and downness (aplogies as I am making up all kinds of words today!!) which is working up just beautifully – No 1 Son can’t wait for it’s completion. Unfortunately it’s just big enough for Little Miss H to snuggle in so wrestling it away to keep going on it can be tricky!

DSCN0739

Here’s another shot of ripply goodness for you! I do love it so. And as No 1 Son says ‘There’s love in every stitch’ – he’s right, there is!

Twenty-nine stripes done of trebles and probably the same amount to go – when it is finished and it’s ripply glory is complete I will post a reveal – in the meantime I’m just gonna keep on rippling!

Hope that you are having a happy time wherever you are and that the weather is being kind.

Emma

x

 

About Toadstool Tales

Hello, welcome to Toadstool Tales! I am a wife of a lovely man, mother of two who loves to be crafty! I love anything crocheted, vintage, with owls or shrooms. I am inspired by the outdoors and enjoy long walks or long cups of tea after the long walks!! I hope that you enjoy my Toadstool Tales!

One response to “The beginnings of Spring and a love of stripes!

  1. This blanket is so soft and pretty – I love this pattern. I just finished one for my sis-in-law but it does not have the soft and vibrant colors of this one. You are right the motion of the waves is very relaxing to work on.

Leave a Reply

Maniacal Medievalist

aka Esperanza de Navarra. Loving all things Medieval, especially the clothing!

The Sass in my Soul

Journeys of a Creative Misfit

Ruby & Custard

Crocheted with Love

Attic24

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Bunny Mummy

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Rainbow Junkie

My crafty creations corner

Toadstool Tales

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

