Robin Rescue and a growing blanket

Well hello all! We have had some exciting goings on at the Toadstool recently. Firstly, and most excitingly, we have had four teeny baby robins hatch out of our eggs … At first they are basically all beak but then after only a very few days they turn into sweet bundles of feathers like this … It’s getting a little crowded in the nest now.

DSCN0865

Then when we got home tonight one of the small chicks was hopping round the garden, so we scooped him up in a bucket and popped him back into the nest. Mr and Mrs Robin looked on worriedly. However this little chick was not to be beaten … I have named it ‘Persistence’. The use of tea towels and buckets to scoop him up with was hugely impressive but as fast as we deposited him back in the nest he would hop back out again ( for hop read fall). After the fifth time we built a little bridge on the floor so he could at least get back into the shed. I fear for his safety but really, save hand rearing him, there us little we can do. Anyway, all evening we have been on robin rescue high alert.

Surprisingly, this little robin seems to be doing very well. Mr and Mrs Robin are taking their parenting role extremely seriously and are seeking him out to feed him whilst he explores the garden. Doesn’t he look sweet perched on this plant pot with the bridge into the hole in the shed visible in the background. Really we do need to get a new shiny shed, one without gaping holes in it and a proper roof! I’d love a chalet for the bottom of the garden to use as a studio, although once all my glorious yarn was in there you may not see me again, I may just move in! Anyway, don’t you just love the tufts of baby hair still on his head – sweet!

IMG_3757

 

Moving on to other things now – The flowers in my garden are glorious at other moment and I have enjoyed taking ants eye views of them. Here are a few of my faves.

DSCN0851 DSCN0854

 

And finally, the pastel bobbly blanket is nearly nearly finished so I thought you might like to see how its shaping up. I do so love those bobbles!

DSCN0846

The round balls in the background are owls – they just need their eyes and beaks sewn on but the bobbly blanket is thwarting my attempts to finish them! I just would love to have the blanket completed! Never mind, four more squares to go and then I can sew them all together and add the border … then done!

Until next time, I’ll be on Robin Alert and finishing bobbles – what will you be doing?

Emma

x

About Toadstool Tales

Hello, welcome to Toadstool Tales! I am a wife of a lovely man, mother of two who loves to be crafty! I love anything crocheted, vintage, with owls or shrooms. I am inspired by the outdoors and enjoy long walks or long cups of tea after the long walks!! I hope that you enjoy my Toadstool Tales!

Leave a comment

Pintangle

For your stitching adventures!

All The Pretty Fibers

Hand Spun Yarns and Hand Dyed Fiber Blog, Spinning and Felting Supplies

Maniacal Medievalist

aka Esperanza de Navarra. Loving all things Medieval, especially the clothing!

Attic24

Away with the Fairies - Textile Artist

Bunny Mummy

Away with the Fairies - Textile Artist

Rainbow Junkie

My crafty creations corner

Toadstool Tales

Away with the Fairies - Textile Artist

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.