Summer Holidays and further adventures!

Well hello. How have you been? The final end of term rush is over, a huge sigh has been heard echoing around the Toadstool – children and parents are very happy to be chillin’ for a while.

Now the holidays are here I am snatching every available moment for a little bit of relaxing crochet. So far I am getting on very well and borders, blankets, bunting and barefoot sandals are all in progress!

First – the dotty blanket! Squares were placed …

DSCN1069

Then sewn together and I now just need to crochet a border. I am thinking … Still thinking … Hmmmmm we’ll see.

DSCN1072

DSCN1073

As you can tell I still have quite a lot of ends to sew in too but here’s hoping for a sunny day, a beach umbrella and a glass of something cold to drink whilst I happily finish it off.

Here is the surprise that I left you guessing about lasts time …

DSCN1052

Yup, you can’t beat a bit of crochet bunting to get you in the mood for summer! My lovely friend has a caravan and so I got busy and crocheted a little bit of hooky goodness for her as a pressie.

DSCN1060

I have also made a smaller version for ‘the tent’. It had its first official outing this week and looked resplendent in the summer sunshine. The hot water bottle cover worked a treat too – warm, cosy, comfy tent – mmmmm.

DSCN1082

Do excuse No 1 Son’s clodhoppers in front of said tent! It was beautifully sunny the night that we camped and the full moon was utterly stunning – so much so that no torches were required throughout the night.

A week or so ago another lovely lady who co-owns the most magical shop asked me if I might be able to make her some barefoot sandals. ‘No problem’ I thought, as patterns are everywhere at the moment – how difficult could it be? Well, the lady in question wanted three circles which got progressively larger in black and white. Let me tell you, I hunted the internet – could I find a pattern? No! So I sat down and persevered and this is what I came up with –

DSCN1092

DSCN1094

I can’t tell you how happy I am with them! I added little beads to the ties which you can see if you look really closely! I will definitely be making more of them. Watch this space and in the words of my lovely friend ‘Who needs shoes, when you have these?’ Although we did think cliff path walking might be a bit tricky in them!

My creative mind is a bubbling at the moment – so many different ideas popping up – some of them toadstool themed and very ‘faery’! Must go and write some down!

Until next time, happy camping!

Emma x

About Toadstool Tales

Hello, welcome to Toadstool Tales! I am a wife of a lovely man, mother of two who loves to be crafty! I love anything crocheted, vintage, with owls or shrooms. I am inspired by the outdoors and enjoy long walks or long cups of tea after the long walks!! I hope that you enjoy my Toadstool Tales!

One response to “Summer Holidays and further adventures!

  1. carol le quesne

    Love love love the way you keep us posted and your amazing creations xxx

Leave a Reply

Maniacal Medievalist

aka Esperanza de Navarra. Loving all things Medieval, especially the clothing!

The Sass in my Soul

Journeys of a Creative Misfit

Ruby & Custard

Crocheted with Love

Attic24

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Bunny Mummy

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Rainbow Junkie

My crafty creations corner

Toadstool Tales

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

