A ‘different’ tah-dah and a flurry of snowflakes at the W.I.

Hello all, I hope you are all well on this blustery day!

What a very busy week I’ve had! A few weeks ago a lovely lady from the W.I. asked me if I would teach – I know … me … teach – crochet to some W.I. members whilst they were on a residential. Of course I couldn’t say no (even though the thought struck , well if not terror at least mild discomfort, into my brain!) so Saturday afternoon found me trundling along with a bag of goodies to see them all.

DSCN1624

I had decided that the snowflakes from the lovely Lucy would be a good thing for us to make as chains and double crochets were covered. I gave them all one of my little handmade snowflakes to take away with them attached to my blog address so they could check in with me to see their makes.

DSCN1619

Thanks must go to all the lovely ladies for putting up with my (at times) dodgy directions – more practice on the teaching front is definitely required. They all made me feel completely at home and I loved my afternoon. I was very honoured to be asked and teaching is definitely a lot harder than it looks! Here is what they all made during an hour and a half:

DSCN1627

DSCN1628

DSCN1629

Beautiful, brightly coloured and wonderful snowflakes. YUM!

Inspired by everyone’s yarn choices a visit to my local wool shop came next – and I got there just in time too … how lucky!

DSCN1630

Rows upon rows of gorgeous yarny colour – oh how I wish I could dive right into it all (especially the glorious clash of reds and pinks!) but I restrained myself as I didn’t want to be banned from never ever again darkening their door!

Next comes the rather strange and odd tah-dah that resulted from hooking up a rainbow. Noone guessed what it might have been so here we are …

DSCN1636

I think ‘yarn-storming’ or ‘yarn-bombing’ is what it is officially called – I call it badgering a neighbour until they give in to me and my slightly bonkers ideas and say ‘yes’ to me decorating a dead tree in their garden with yarn! I think that my lovely lady neighbour gets it, not sure if ‘husband’ has seen it in daylight yet!

DSCN1642

Many people may call me odd – believe me it is nothing new – but I love it! (shame it isn’t in my garden really but there we go!) Strange, yes, but who can resist a rainbow?!

On that weird and wonderful note I will leave you and do the thing I’m meant to be doing!

Until next time, keep it weird and wacky!

Emma

x

(oh and the W.I. rock!)

About Toadstool Tales

Hello, welcome to Toadstool Tales! I am a wife of a lovely man, mother of two who loves to be crafty! I love anything crocheted, vintage, with owls or shrooms. I am inspired by the outdoors and enjoy long walks or long cups of tea after the long walks!! I hope that you enjoy my Toadstool Tales!

One response to “A ‘different’ tah-dah and a flurry of snowflakes at the W.I.

  1. Congratulations on teaching your first class! It is indeed trickier than it looks, as you have so many different skill levels to deal with. But it’s fun, and it’s so nice to see people’s happy faces when the technique finally ‘clicks’! I’m teaching classes now, too, and I’m happy to share tips and tricks if you have another group to teach sometime, just drop me an email via my blog! Chrissie x ps I LOVE the yarn bombing rainbow!!!

Leave a Reply

Maniacal Medievalist

aka Esperanza de Navarra. Loving all things Medieval, especially the clothing!

The Sass in my Soul

Journeys of a Creative Misfit

Ruby & Custard

Crocheted with Love

Attic24

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Bunny Mummy

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Rainbow Junkie

My crafty creations corner

Toadstool Tales

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

