Needle felted mushroom how-to!

Hello folks!
Here it goes – my very first, ever, ever sparkly tutorial! This time it’s not crochet related but still ‘shroom related! DSCN1818

So here we go! First you need to gather all the things that you will need together. Some red wool roving, white wool roving, a needle felting pad, a needle felting tool – the one I use is from Clover, red or white yarn and a wool needle. Oh and a sponge and scissorts have crept in too – very handy.

DSCN1788

Take your needle felting tool, your pad and a palm sized chunk of red wool roving, give it a good tear to separate the fibres and then roll it into a rough ball with your palms. Then the fun starts. Start to form the shape by needle felting the rough ball.

DSCN1790

DSCN1793

It will start to come together to form a more solid ball shape quite quickly – don’t worry that the bottom is flat. ‘Shrooms don’t mind having flat bottoms! When you take it off the felting mat it will be a bit ‘poofy’ on it’s bottom. We can fix that! This is where I get a little sneaky and remove the lid from the needle felting tools and take out just one of the needles so I can be more accurate when I smooth it.

DSCN1797

This is also where the kitchen sponge comes in as the last thing you want to do is make the top of the mushroom ‘poofy’! Place your mushroom upside down on the sponge and use the single needle to tidy it up a bit around the edges. You don’t need to worry too much about the middle as this is where the stalk will fit.

DSCN1800

Now for the stalk. Take a chunk of white wool roving – about as long as your index finger will do the trick nicely. I usually roll it between my palms to make a tube and then needle felt it on the mat to make it a little bit more solid.

DSCN1803

DSCN1804

Don’t panic if you’ve a longer tube by this stage than you need – just chop a bit off with scissors! I normally leave the very end rough until I’ve needle felted it on to the underneath of the ‘shroom. You don’t need to be too precise with this as mushrooms are very forgiving but I normally felt this bit with a single needle to make sure I can get all the way round the base of the stalk. If you give it a tug after you think you’ve finished it should feel secure.

DSCN1805

Now you can tidy up the end of the stalk if you want to – sometimes I leave mine rough as they still look gorgeous! For this I use a single needle and the sponge.

DSCN1806

You should have something that looks a bit like this.

DSCN1808

Take a small amount of the white roving and roll until you have a teeny ball.

DSCN1809

Next we are going to attach it to the mushroom using a single needle again.

DSCN1812

The more you stab that needle the flatter and smoother the white ball will get. I usually attach three white blobs to my ‘shrooms but really the world is your oyster ( or lobster??!!) Et voila!

DSCN1815

Now the very final part is to attach some wool to hang it with – enter needle and wool!

DSCN1817

Tie the wool and Bob’s your Uncle there you have it – a needle felted mushroom. Mine are now on the Christmas tree but live at the Toadstool in some capacity all year round!

IMG_20131208_132001

I hope that my very first ever tutorial fits the bill as a little Christmas present to you all!! You never know – more may now follow.

Until next time I wish you all a very sparkly, magical Christmas.

Emma

x

About Toadstool Tales

Hello, welcome to Toadstool Tales! I am a wife of a lovely man, mother of two who loves to be crafty! I love anything crocheted, vintage, with owls or shrooms. I am inspired by the outdoors and enjoy long walks or long cups of tea after the long walks!! I hope that you enjoy my Toadstool Tales!

2 responses to “Needle felted mushroom how-to!

  1. Aww this is super cute thanks for sharing and for you’re lovely comment on my blog
    Clare x

Leave a Reply

Maniacal Medievalist

aka Esperanza de Navarra. Loving all things Medieval, especially the clothing!

The Sass in my Soul

Journeys of a Creative Misfit

Ruby & Custard

Crocheted with Love

Attic24

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Bunny Mummy

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Rainbow Junkie

My crafty creations corner

Toadstool Tales

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

