Mermaid party’s and more baby blankets!

Hello all! Hope you are all enjoying the bright, if blustery, weather! I have taken five fifteen minutes while both children are occupied with technology to send you a very short longish blog post!

Here’s what I have been frantically trying to finish recently.

DSCN2232

 

Yup, Little Miss H decided no other party bags would do … so sewing machine at the ready I made twenty of these teeny bags for all her friends. Oh the wonder of calico and ribbon. I was really pleased with the way they turned out and all her friends seemed happy too.  Although going to the shop and buying the plastic ones would have been easier I think these will get far more use, won’t end up as landfill and made my girlie happy – all in all worth the effort.

Her party was mermaid themed and although I did not take too many pictures of the actual festivities I did manage to get one of the cake before it was presented to her. This beautiful cake was made by a super talented friend of mine. The picture does not fully do it justice – it was glittery and sparkly in real life and the little yellow spots were actually the most beautiful shells. Just stunning. In Little Miss H’s words ‘You’ve blown my mind!’ I know – too cute!

DSCN2267

So after all the cake had been eaten by friends and family I needed something yummy but sweet to put in lunchboxes and these flapjacks fitted the bill perfectly.

DSCN2209

Yes they have copious amounts of golden syrup – but Hey they were gluten free… oh and they involved the children (yes even my biggest!) so happy days!

DSCN2309

Ahh now this is more like it! A little bit of glorious crochet to relax and rejuvenate after all of the manic party throwing. This piccie was taken just before I sewed all the squares together and added the border. (for where the pattern came from have a gander at my last post!!)

 

DSCN2314

Ah, it was so snuggly! I just couldn’t help but stretch it out on my favourite chair with the night night owl.

DSCN2319

Sorry for the overload of pictures but it’s not often that something works out the way you picture it in your mind! Joining the squares together was inspired by Sandra at Cherry Heart and was used for her gorgeous sampler blanket. I did it slightly differently as I worked double crochets into the finished squares to make them 24 dc long before trying to add in the join (sorry if that make’s no sense – if you read Sandra’s instructions it will do!) Then because I couldn’t access the internet I made up my own edging.

DSCN2322

I used a 4mm hook to make my blanket and it took 8 (I know 8!!) balls of Sirdar Snuggly wool. I gave it to the lovely lady it was intended for this morning and I am happy to report that she loved it. (Phew!)

My next project will be revealed shortly (also might be a present!! so under wraps at the moment – ha ha!!) then I want to make a pretty mandala to send off to Lucy from Attic 24 for Yarndale this year! Busy busy busy!!

Until next time lovelies, enjoy the sun.

Emma

x

 

 

About Toadstool Tales

Hello, welcome to Toadstool Tales! I am a wife of a lovely man, mother of two who loves to be crafty! I love anything crocheted, vintage, with owls or shrooms. I am inspired by the outdoors and enjoy long walks or long cups of tea after the long walks!! I hope that you enjoy my Toadstool Tales!

2 responses to “Mermaid party’s and more baby blankets!

  1. I know that I tend to go for brightly coloured things but this is really lovely with all those different squares. I think I recognise a few of the patterns you’ve used. And that cake your friend made is just amazing. Lucky girl.

  2. Ah thanks rainbow junkie … I think you’ve made all these squares!! I have to say that I thought I would struggle making something all in one colour but I loved it. Simple and actually elegant too! I’m back to something with a little more colour now. X

Leave a Reply

Maniacal Medievalist

aka Esperanza de Navarra. Loving all things Medieval, especially the clothing!

The Sass in my Soul

Journeys of a Creative Misfit

Ruby & Custard

Crocheted with Love

Attic24

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Bunny Mummy

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Rainbow Junkie

My crafty creations corner

Toadstool Tales

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

