Experiments and the problem of armholes!

 

 

 

 

Hello all!

It’s half term here at the moment and we are enjoying some sunshine and some of the inevitable rain! I’ve decided to play around to see if I like bigger photos appearing on my blog – I hope they don’t impact on my loading time. Please shout if they do.

So here, to get us all feeling summery is my newly sized photo – ahh beach. Albeit a bit cloudy it was still warm. Little Miss H still enjoyed digging and making mermaids out of the sand.

DSCN2353

 

After my successful experiment with the mandala I was feeling brave – possibly a little over confident – but very brave. Little Miss H has had a cardigan since she was teeny which she still wears today (she’s now 6!) It now is more of a bolero than a cardi but she still loves it. Several thoughts went through my brave little mind, one of them being ‘I could make her a bigger one – how hard can it be?’ I could see that it had been made in pieces but decided to give it a go in one rectangle.

DSCN2362

DSCN2361

DSCN2367

Apologies for the strange colours in my pictures – it’s the same top honest.

‘Ok’ I thought ‘Now to shape the top’ … then a horrible thought struck me – just as I was starting to feel all pleased with myself! ‘Hang on a minute – armholes! She’ll need armholes!’ and with that I promptly had to frog the entire top piece to take off the circly bits. Boo hoo. Miffed does not cover it! So now it is sat on my kitchen work surface – waiting. Waiting for inspiration to strike. I’m sure my armholey dilemma will solve itself soon but until then I’ll have to get used to a half made blue cardigan staring balefully at me from the kitchen worktop.

To cheer myself up yesterday I went on a treasure finding expedition! Oh how I love the warehouse style charity shop. Look at my lovely finds. Veritable treasure indeed!

DSCN2368

I love the spotty jug – it called out to me – very loudly in fact! So it just had to come home. The napkins were actually what I was looking for really. I have a cunning plan for them – you’ll have to bear with me though while I scavenge a few more! I love the hand embroidered one at the bottom. I wonder who made it – whether it was used all the time or just for special occasions. I build a picture in my mind of the person who made it – little old lady living in a beautiful thatched cottage with an armchair in front of an open fire. (possibly not the most imaginative I could be but nevermind!)

DSCN2370

Sooo pretty! The blue flowery napkins remind me of Dutch pottery.

DSCN2372

 

 

Last but by no means least are the wicker hearts in the background. I have a yearning to add crochet flowers to these. Or maybe something to hang in the middle of them – hmmm my creative mind is a buzzing!

Anyhoo – best be off to complete Little Miss H’s school project – under the sea scape. Imagine lots (and I mean lots) of glue, cellophane in sea like colours, seaweed style plastic (recycled from a bottle) and fish cut out of sparkly card and you’ll see the potential for a huge mess in the conservatory! Especially as the cellophane seems to be reacting with the PVA glue and going a little ‘gloopy’ for want of a better word!

Until next time, I’ll be treasure hunting!

Emma

x

About Toadstool Tales

Hello, welcome to Toadstool Tales! I am a wife of a lovely man, mother of two who loves to be crafty! I love anything crocheted, vintage, with owls or shrooms. I am inspired by the outdoors and enjoy long walks or long cups of tea after the long walks!! I hope that you enjoy my Toadstool Tales!

3 responses to “Experiments and the problem of armholes!

  1. Brave of you to copy a shop garment but you are obviously doing well. It wouldn’t be the same as the original but it you don’t want to worry about shaping you could always make drop sleeves.
    See what you mean about the hearts; flowers and such would look lovely.

  2. Thanks rainbow junkie. I’m giving it a good go!!! We’ll see how it turns out!!! X

  3. I was away for the weekend so I’m just now catching up with your fun post – you are amazing!!! Recreating that cardigan!?! I’m in awe, regardless of the forgotten armholes. It looks fantastic – frogging is frustrating, but hopefully you’ll find new inspiration to keep going…love your new finds, can’t wait to see what you do with it all! Chrissie x

Leave a Reply

Maniacal Medievalist

aka Esperanza de Navarra. Loving all things Medieval, especially the clothing!

The Sass in my Soul

Journeys of a Creative Misfit

Ruby & Custard

Crocheted with Love

Attic24

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Bunny Mummy

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Rainbow Junkie

My crafty creations corner

Toadstool Tales

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

