Something strange!

Earthquake central! Who knew that here in little old Jersey we would be experiencing a very strange phenomena – earthquakes! I missed the first one as I was driving and so it didn’t effect me at all but apparently it measured 4.2 on the Richter scale (hope I’ve spelt that correctly!). Today – at 5.26pm local time – there was another one of around 4 magnitude and boy did I feel it. The dogs living locally all started barking and then there was a huge rumble and the house shook. It was very very scary but only for a second. All I can compare it to is a storm happening right above you when everything rattles because of the thunder. Weird.

Also weird is the fact that I have not touched yarn for a few weeks now – it is just so hot I can’t face it. So I have been experimenting with fabric. First came the stars – they are growing in number and I quite like having them hanging on my inspiration board!

DSCN2704

I know there is a vest from Little Miss H’s younger days there too – bizarre thing to have on your inspiration board I hear you cry. Well yes I would agree, however lurking in the back of my creative bonkers mind there is a plan. A plan to do something personal and gorgeous with them. The reason that I have put the vest up there is to remind me that I need to do this before she reaches 18! Oh and also because I love the pattern and just because I can, I have! The beady eyed amongst you will notice a fabric shape that is not a star. This one is a flower – well it is meant to be a flower – the pattern I used (from a very old copy of Simply Crochet) looked like a flower when it was done in yarn. I’m not so sure it works as well in fabric – but still cute I thought! I’d love to know what you think.

DSCN2711

And the sign says:

DSCN2708

I love the sentiments in that little heart. It makes me smile! Oh and I also love the fabric too. Butterflies and flowers abound.

OK, now for some more weirdness – I have put down the hook in favour of the needle for a spot of embroidery – I know, how strange! I can’t share the whole thing with you yet (It’s not finished!!) but will do as soon as it is a little more completed. Luckily I had three balls of wool to return to my local shop, unluckily I could not find anything I really wanted on the wool front to replace them. So I managed to get 40 skeins of embroidery thread instead! Colours for every eventuality! No more will I be scrabbling round to find some yellow for a little owlies beak – no siree! And so a something a little different was born! (or ‘borned’ as Little Miss H would say. I love the way she adapts words.)

DSCN2703

And last but not least (goodness thanks so much for sticking with it!! What a fabulously long post!) was a project just for Little Miss H. I have noticed that she is being increasingly invited to stay the night at friends houses and a carrier bag with her toiletries in will no longer suffice. Not to worry (ahem!) I will fix that! So here it is (be kind please!) my very first toiletry bag.

DSCN2713

DSCN2714

How gorgeous is the oilcloth? I loved it the second I saw it (well it does have owls on it!) fortunately so did Little Miss H. It works, it holds ‘stuff’ and it looks passable. I have discovered that zips are dastardly little devils who want to break your needles if they have the chance and also that I don’t ‘do’ corners very well! Or curves for that matter!!! But hey, she’s happy with it and it is at least fit for purpose!

Well, we made it to the end! I hope it’s sunny in your part of the world but that you are also getting a splattering of rain every now and again to keep the flowers happy.

Until next time, may the earth not wobble underneath me!

Emma

x

About Toadstool Tales

Hello, welcome to Toadstool Tales! I am a wife of a lovely man, mother of two who loves to be crafty! I love anything crocheted, vintage, with owls or shrooms. I am inspired by the outdoors and enjoy long walks or long cups of tea after the long walks!! I hope that you enjoy my Toadstool Tales!

4 responses to “Something strange!

  1. Well it could be a six pointed star – or a flower. Happy thought to go with it. Really love the toiletry bag with those owls. Can I have one too?

  2. Ah bless you … I could have another ‘practice’ and send it your way!!!x

  3. Great toiletry bag – love that owl fabric! Maria x

Leave a Reply

Maniacal Medievalist

aka Esperanza de Navarra. Loving all things Medieval, especially the clothing!

The Sass in my Soul

Journeys of a Creative Misfit

Ruby & Custard

Crocheted with Love

Attic24

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Bunny Mummy

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Rainbow Junkie

My crafty creations corner

Toadstool Tales

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

