Holidays and Bear Hoods

Wow – didn’t the Summer holidays pass by quickly! I can’t believe that the kids go back to school this week. Six weeks gone in a flash – whatever you did I hope you had a lovely time.

I’ve just got back from a week in Wales. The scenery there is so different to on our little island – rolling hills, fields, views that go on for miles. I spent many holidays when I was small here and it always evokes the feeling of wonder whenever I go back and feels a lot like coming home. I could just sit and look at this view over the Brecon Beacons all day. The colours were spectacular – from the greys and browns of the dry stone wall to the greens of the grasses and the purples, reds and whites of the flowers. This kind of scenery makes my heart lift and sing.

DSCN2991

This time we also ventured to Abergavenny and as a castle enthusiast I loved wandering round the ruins of the old castle. It is so beautiful – even in the rain! There is also a museum on site which the kids loved. If it had been nicer weather I can imagine picnics on the grass here would be lovely.

DSCN2974

We went to Dan-yr-Ogof Showcaves which were spectacular – I remember visiting as a child with my parents so it was special to bring my own children here. The picture below is of the Cathedral Cave – stunning.

DSCN2980

And then there was Big Pit – I don’t have any photographs to show you of this as they are not allowed underground but boy, if you get a chance to visit do. As it is a Museum it is free which is even more amazing. You travel down a mine shaft all rigged up with oxygen, hard hat and lamp and then are shown around the meandering tunnels to see how the miners lived – oh and their horses. I’m not going to tell you any more as I wouldn’t want to spoil it for you but this was the day that the kids loved the best.

I have got many many more photographs – but I won’t burden you with all of them! Next time we will look at the other places I visited – Symonds Yat and Puzzlewood.

Onto the hat part of my blog post! Do you remeber this?

DSCN2869

Ahh the start of the bear hood. Well this is what it looked like when it was finished. Thanks to the lovely lady that it belongs to for the photograph – I am eternally grateful. I am ridiculously pleased with it – and fortunately so was she!!

DSCN2939

I’m now on a roll and have more hoods in the pipeline – some are bears, some are foxes, some are wolves, some are for children, some are for adults – all have been commissioned. So my little hook is busy busy creating more. Would you like to see another? This one is a children’s size foxy hood and I used chunky wool as opposed to Aran weight for this one. I love it and I hope that the little girl that it is destined for loves it too!

DSCN3113

DSCN3108

Love the way one of the ears is slightly lopsided!

I look forward to hearing your comments on them – maybe you can suggest some other animals to experiment with?

Until next time, I’ll be hooking up animal hoods!

Emma

x

 

 

 

About Toadstool Tales

Hello, welcome to Toadstool Tales! I am a wife of a lovely man, mother of two who loves to be crafty! I love anything crocheted, vintage, with owls or shrooms. I am inspired by the outdoors and enjoy long walks or long cups of tea after the long walks!! I hope that you enjoy my Toadstool Tales!

2 responses to “Holidays and Bear Hoods

  1. My family come form Wales and I love visiting. Lovely to see the photos. Hats are fun. What about a cat or a floppy eared rabbit?

  2. Hi rainbow junkie … Rabbits and cats would both be lovely … Thanks for the suggestion x

Leave a Reply

Maniacal Medievalist

aka Esperanza de Navarra. Loving all things Medieval, especially the clothing!

The Sass in my Soul

Journeys of a Creative Misfit

Ruby & Custard

Crocheted with Love

Attic24

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Bunny Mummy

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Rainbow Junkie

My crafty creations corner

Toadstool Tales

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

