Fascinators and a little stripeyness!

Hello all in blogland. I hope you are all keeping warm and snuggly on this grey rainy day. I have the lurgy so am feeling very sorry for myself. Lots of honey and lemon drinks, fireside snoozing, crochet and a film with Little Miss H is on my agenda for this afternoon.

In the meantime I wanted to pop on by to show you what I’ve been up to recently. A lovely colleague of mine recently gave me a challenge. She was off to a wedding and was wearing black and cream. She had a black fascinator which she wanted to add some cream to and with me being a crafty sort of gal thought I might be able to help.

Featured image

Here it is looking pretty in black. I tried many (many) ways to attach the little cream feathers. But first I sewed around the bases to give me something to ‘grab’.

Featured imageThey needed to be able to be detached easily – I tried stitching them to the net – no good. I tried the teeniest bit of glue – no good. In the end I came up with this.

Featured image

I attached them to a piece of black embroidery thread before winding the thread round the base of the net rose and tying it off – this way the feathers were secure but would also be easy to detach. – phew!

Featured image

It was tricky to get a photograph of them – so here’s another one for you to peruse! I was quite pleased with the finished result.

Featured image

On my hook at the moment is this little stripey cosy. I love the grey and the bright colours – no pattern – just random stripes whenever I feel like them.

Featured image

This shot was taken on a day a lot sunnier than this one!! I love daffs – they instantly cheer my house up and make me smile. Here’s another little shot of the stripes – just rows of double crochet measured to fit – looking a little wonky but infinitely cheery!

Featured image

Now I’ve shared I’m off to locate that hot honey and lemon, whack another log on the stove, grab a snuggly crochet blanket and watch something lovely with my girlie!

Until next time, I’ll be keeping snuggly!

Emma x

About Toadstool Tales

Hello, welcome to Toadstool Tales! I am a wife of a lovely man, mother of two who loves to be crafty! I love anything crocheted, vintage, with owls or shrooms. I am inspired by the outdoors and enjoy long walks or long cups of tea after the long walks!! I hope that you enjoy my Toadstool Tales!

2 responses to “Fascinators and a little stripeyness!

  1. Sorry to hear you aren’t feeling well. Hope you get better soon. Clever idea with the feathers.

Leave a Reply

Maniacal Medievalist

aka Esperanza de Navarra. Loving all things Medieval, especially the clothing!

The Sass in my Soul

Journeys of a Creative Misfit

Ruby & Custard

Crocheted with Love

Attic24

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Bunny Mummy

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Rainbow Junkie

My crafty creations corner

Toadstool Tales

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

