Umming and Ahhing!

Hello all in blogland! Nice to see you – I hope the Easter Holidays are treating you well. It’s been a mixture here – sometimes bright, sometimes breezy (very!) and sometimes a little drizzly. I have been in a procrastinating mood – what to make next? So many ideas – so little time! Jack was no help at all – he prefers to snooze the day away!

DSCN3418I settled on making a few more of these little sweeties – every single one of them is different. I don’t have a ‘cutter’ so I hand shape each of them, decide on the saying I want and the pattern on the wings. Then leave them to dry (at the moment with the weather we are having it takes about three days.) Then I give them a little colour on their wings, their gorgeous smiley faces and their hair. Hair is the most problematic! Takes a certain ‘je ne sais quoi’ to get the outliner to curl and just when you think you’ve cracked it it bungs up and goes gunky! (not a technical term but the best I have!!)

DSCN3432

I’ve also been playing with this monster (excuse the messy playroom behind it that I have commandeered while I practice!)

DSCN3424

 

I was thrilled to be given the chance to use this beautiful thing! It is a ‘Great Wheel’ otherwise known as a ‘Walking Wheel’. It’s kind pre-dates the spinning wheel with the treadle – this was added later. The Great Wheel can, I believe, be dated back to Medieval Times. I am furiously spinning (not as easy as it looks when you have to sort out spinning the wheel with one hand and teasing the wool with the other) to get ready for a season with The Companie of the Duke’s Leopards at Mont Orgueil Castle in Jersey. I’m the spinner with the Companie and this wheel is as tall as I am!

I hope that you are all ready for Easter – my Easter tree is back up – but that is as far as it goes I’m afraid!

DSCN3434

Can you see the very cheeky angel propped against the bottom gate crashing my photo? I must be more organised (she repeats over and over!).

I’m building stock for a fair in the Summer – two hoods done. Angels are multiplying, my next make looms – I have an idea in my head for a fairy bag and I have the perfect yarn to make it with – we’ll see what happens, wish me luck!

Until next time, I wish you all a very Happy Easter … and lots of Chocolate!

Emma x

 

About Toadstool Tales

Hello, welcome to Toadstool Tales! I am a wife of a lovely man, mother of two who loves to be crafty! I love anything crocheted, vintage, with owls or shrooms. I am inspired by the outdoors and enjoy long walks or long cups of tea after the long walks!! I hope that you enjoy my Toadstool Tales!

Leave a Reply

Maniacal Medievalist

aka Esperanza de Navarra. Loving all things Medieval, especially the clothing!

The Sass in my Soul

Journeys of a Creative Misfit

Ruby & Custard

Crocheted with Love

Attic24

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Bunny Mummy

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

Rainbow Junkie

My crafty creations corner

Toadstool Tales

Magical makes and a love of 'shrooms

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

